Scriptable Video Module

@creatorlars mentioned on the FB group that there are plans to develop/release a “video scriptable module” and we can start the discussion about it. So here I wanted seed the topics about this that I think are relevant, so feel free to comment on them, to add new or whatever you feel.

1. GUI: Regarding the medium of programming, there are (at least but not limited) to mainstream approach to program. To use “boxes” and “wires” (a-la-Max) or traditional plain text. I personally prefer just a text editor but that because I’m a developer and can handle, the boxes-wires are almost universally in the software industry to break or lower the bar regarding the users of the platform. The problem is that creating a UI with dragable elements and connections in a way that is intuitive and easy to use is not trivial or a small task, meaning that development of this eurorack module with its full-fledged GUI with boxes is not viable as a product to sell. A good alternative could be to use an existing software platform (maybe like Axoloti Platform Patcher or even Max???) and integrate the module into it. In this case I would try to go with opensource always (avoiding Max).

2. Programming Languages: as for the PL I suggest going with some specific-domain one, like Processing. I would totally avoid using python in the same way that Criter&Guitari made on the ETC (I love python, I program in python almost every day at work…).

3. Hardware interface/uploading sketch: I would definitely want to have a direct USB-serial connection to upload the sketch into the module or similar, an alternative can be a SD card and swap it, but that will mean that as a programmer I will need a “renderer” on the computer.

4. GPU/opengl/glsl: If the module have a GPU we could even do hi quality shaders and other advanced video effects, that would be amazing.