Decision time...Chromagnon, Cortex, alt? with MP

I’m totally new to the video side of modular, with a few audio modules that I own and love. My interest in video synthesis has grown and I’ve been gathering funds to fuel it. I would like to slave video from audio, but mainly just for time sync.

I’m at a bit of a crossroads and feel like it’s time to ask for any input from the community.

I have pre-ordered the Memory Palace, but have every interest in using cameras for input, too. My intention was to pick up the Visual Cortex for this as a core for the system, but based on the idea that the Memory Palace is meant to be at the ‘end of the chain’ of modules (and the VC has been discontinued, though there are a couple left for grabs), should I be waiting or the Chromagnon or maybe the TBC2? It seems like these could well be the better option than the VC, moving forward…or maybe I’ve missed something completely, that I should be looking at instead?

Memory Palace, Chromagnon & TBC2 as a trio is a hell of spend, so realistically I would only be looking at two of those modules for now.

I’ve read that the Chromagnon can deal with more forms of video input, but doesn’t replace the VC functionality-wise…I don’t fully understand the main advantages of the Chromagnon over the VC apart from this (based on the idea that it just has different functionality in general).

I read the post about ‘Starter Systems’ which was helpful, but obviously doesn’t include the new range, or show a system based on the Memory Palace, and progressions from there.

Other modules that seem like obvious choices with any of these are Staircase & Bridge, which I will pickup for sure.

Is the Chromagnon worth waiting for, for what I’m looking to do? Or will I regret not picking up a VC whilst there are a couple left around? Any suggestions or advice is massively appreciated!

1 Like