Visual Cortex help plz

Hi
im a total beginner and just got a visual cortex .
when i patch it (just to see input video) like described in this video
is till get the colors shifting like its on cycle … am i missing anything ?
i attached a picture of my patch and here

is a video of what i get
thank you in advance

1 Like

While I can’t answer your question, I can tell that the noise in your video is coming from the PSU. While it’s a fine PSU for audio, video is a little more demanding. I started with a similar PSU myself, so I can appreciate the advantages, but you may find at some point that the noise becomes a problem. That’ll be when you should consider a case with a cleaner PSU, like a Doepfer G6 or a Vessel. The later has better ventillation, which may become another problem. It certainly did that for me! My VC began overheating in one skiff.

Anyone, someone else will soon answer your question. I’m just passing on a few things I learned as a beginner. I hope they help.

tnx a lot for the tip ! ill remember that for the future …
i just got the system now so i guess ill play with the noise until it ill be ready for an upgrade …
but at least it will not drive me crazy when i know where its coming from :slight_smile:

1 Like

I think that the VC is working correctly - it looks like the signal i get when there’s no signal input to my VC!

where are you getting your video signal from? please describe in detail - ie MacBook Pro -> usbc/hdmi converter (apple) -> hdmi/composite converter (cheap ebay portta) -> VC (which is,for example, my signal chain)

have you tried the composite signal straight into the display?

have you got everything set correctly (either NTSC or PAL from original output through any converters through VC through any converters into display - depends on the target display)?

NB as it’s composite the signal input will be monochrome in VC - probably colour straight into the TV though

1 Like