Vidiot key knobs not working

Hi
First post here. I’m afraid that my question will sound stupid as i’m a total noob. But I have the same setup as indicated in the vidiot manual : luma out to screen 1, colorizer out to screen 2 and a camera pointed at screen 1 connected on the camera in port.
when i turn the key knobs nothing happens. They already worked at least once but since that session, nothing happens on the the luma display or on the colorizer display …
The switches that can be set to key, are set to key.
I don’t know if there is a link but another weird stuf is that the luma out screen is grey even with the brightness control and cv level at zero, is it normal ?

Any ideas ???

Thanks !

1 Like

Hi @Matthys . I’m glad you decided to ask your question. If you’re thinking it, chances are a bunch of other people are wondering too. The grey screen with zero brightness does sound strange, but it could be setting-related.

The first thing to check are the default settings (brightness/contrast/detail knobs to 50% point, CV levels to 50% point, two-position Mode switches to the left (Positive values). The Loop switch should be in the down position, otherwise the camera data won’t make into the device through the input. (If you try all this and things still aren’t working, try the Loop switch in the alternate setting – we’ve seen at least one Loop switch installed backwards). Set the Luma preset dial to its left-most position, the Video input setting.

What are you seeing at this point? If it’s still just grey output from the Luma out, do brightness or contrast knobs or Mode switches make any changes to the output signal? If not, does selecting a preset like Noise lead to any changes?

Once we get the device outputting normally again we can get to those Key knob issues.

1 Like