Testing Continuity and Bench Power Supply Questions

Hello!

I’m new to both eurorack and diy electronics and have just finished building the first two cadets. Unwisely I didn’t test any continuity until I soldered everything (except for the power headers on the Cadet II) and now when I test with the multimeter I hear a beep when testing for continuity between ground and -12V. I’ve been having a hard time finding a lot of resources online that have been comprehensive for me but if my understanding of what people in these links are saying is right then there should be no beeps between any of the -12V +12V and ground rails on the power header, correct?
https://www.muffwiggler.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=135088
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vYwRrVp8B_A

Also I’ve heard people recommend using bench power supplies for testing modules before and am wondering if this is recommended with LZX modules as well and if so which ones people recommend and how they are set up to connect to the 16 pin headers.

1 Like

If you get a bleep between -12v and GND, you have a short somewhere.
(and that is not what you want. the module will not work)
You need to fix this problem before connecting it to any supply.

The Cadet modules are not that complex, so you should be able to spot it.
Check all solderpads, clean the pcb, check the polarity of the diodes and electrolythic capacitors.
Also check the orientation of the IC’s.

Alternatively, you can post a picture of the top and bottom of the pcb here, and we can help you.

Bench supplies are very stable and have good fuses. But you can also use a random PSU that has a fuse. It help to have a cheap test supply that does not power any other modules. (so you don’t have to worry about breaking those)

3 Likes