Hdmi conversion

I’m very new to video synthesis, but I’m looking to complete the following signal chain… laptop video feed > vidiot > hdmi output

From what I’m reading online, hdmi to rca converters do not work, but I’m wondering, do I really need to buy hdmi to sdi // sdi to rca // and then rca to sdi // sdi to hdmi? Seems like a very expensive signal path… any info will be very appreciated. Located in Canada!
-dunstan

There is plenty of cheaper options but it depends on what kind of quality you wish to keep across your signal chain.

There is plenty of cheap hdmi to composite/component adapters that will work but the quality wont be the best.

If you want to maintain as best as image as possible you will end up spending more on Blackmagic converters or similar.

A Blackmagic Intensity shuttle is a good mid price option for the first part of your signal chain and will be able to feed a good quality component signal into your vidiot.

Right, I had bought an hdmi to rca converter and there is a constant horizontal scrolling happening. I bought what I thought was a relatively high quality converter, im assuming it’s the vidiot that isnt able to access what type of video it is. Just dont want to buy anything else that wont work, if you have anything that you know will work…

That sound like a sync issue.

Would that be caused by the converters quality?

Just to make sure, you do have the NTSC/Pal switch in the correct position, right?

But Vidiot is indeed rather sensitive to sync issues. And, yeah, a lot of the converters available on Amazon/Ebay just don’t cut it. It could help if you’re specific here about which converter you have.

Probably the most budget-conscious, but reliable, solution for getting video from a computer into Vidiot can be to convert to VGA and use an Extron VSC 500 to then convert into composite. You can pick those up used on Ebay for around $50 (or less if you wait for a good deal).