Collating BOMs & preparing for DIY builds

With all the DIY video modules I’ve committed to building for myself, I found that the biggest effort is in the purchasing and preparing of components… here is my self-taught approach, I’m keen to learn how others handle it:
Bill Of Materials can be presented in many ways. Here are some examples - the first two are basic lists and the third is a well formatted and detailed spreadsheet as per LZX Cadet and Castle modules.
Each maker will have their own way of sharing this info…

Since I started off with the Cadets, I found myself either amending the BOM to mimic that format, or just straight out retyping it in excel so they’re in the same format.

Why match the format? Because it makes way more sense to collate all the required parts and buy in batches, to get discounts on quantities (even at just 10+ can be enough of a discount compared to the 1+ price) and also get the order above the free shipping threshold from Mouser. Having the BOM in the same format sets me up for the next steps…

With all my required BOMs organised per-module on different tabs of my spreadsheet, I copy them in to one big list:

From here the data is cleaned up a bit, ie making sure descriptions match for the same component values (which can be as simple as removing spaces, or as involved as re-typing everything) and then populate the component number I plan to buy - generally by following whatever is listed by one maker or has been bought previously by me. This is one area that I find daunting, to start from absolute scratch with a billion components to choose from! Thankfully I’ve had a starting point of sorts for each build so far.

This is where it starts to make sense, the full list is then pivoted out to components per module and when I place my order I can make notes down the right hand column. These notes could be “qty discount” if I’ve ordered 10 instead of the required quantity, or if I’ve chosen to substitute the part.