Castle & Syntonie build order for new DIYer

I’m new to DIY - have watched a few youtube tutorials, picked up the necessary gear, have some PCBs waiting for work, planning on getting some more.

I’ve got the PCBs for the Castle series and I’m thinking about ordering a Syntonie VU005 and VU006 full kits from Thonk, along with some parts for the Castles and the Music Thing Mini Drive full kit (https://www.thonk.co.uk/shop/music-thing-minidrive/). Will also order components for the Castle PCBs from Mouser.

The Mini Drive is recommended for absolute beginners and I’ll start my adventures in through hole soldering there. For the Cadets and Syntonies, does anyone have a recommendation for which particular units to start with ie which ones are less complex/less at risk of messing up for a beginner?

Thanks

1 Like

get a passive mult too - and start with that - even simpler, cheap and always handy

and an attenuator - ATATAT? or something iirc

I’d also be tempted to use sockets for the ICs if you can - tayda or mouser stock them!

2 Likes

Cheers. Thonk has a 2hp 3x attenuator DIY kit that could fit the bill nicely (https://www.thonk.co.uk/shop/eh-att/).

I’ll try passive mult >> attenuator >> Music Thing Mini Drive >> Castle or Syntonie. Any recommendations on the easiest Castle/Syntonie module to start with would be welcome.

Thanks for the socket recommendation. I’ll look into that before finalising the aggregate BOM for Mouser. A kind soul posted an aggregated BOM for all the Castle units in another thread, which will be handy.

2 Likes

hey here is a long but hopefully helpful message. stoked you are taking up the iron!

Soldering is a lot of fun, but I am guessing you have not (ever) soldered before? any of the kits @Agawell suggested are great but maybe still too much $$ for practice? Id get a tv-b-gone from mouser (its an adafruit/mitch altman kit) for 20 buck (about 14 pounds sterling). or an atari punk console (non eurorack)?