Just started my first module with no former diy synth experience, am I screwed?

The main motivating factor behind my first ever synth being DIY is mostly due to the cost factor. While a single module could cost anywhere from $200 to $1000, A single DIY module is anywhere from only $50 to $100 at most (this cost is including the cost of the pcb’s + components), which is much more reasonable at my budget. The only problem I have is that I am completely new to Modular synths, and have only an intermediate knowledge in electronics. Will this be a serious problem, or will I be ok?

Only you can say for sure. Do you have all the tools you will need already? The cost of a soldering station, solder, hand tools, etc alone can add up pretty quick. And of course there is the cost of your time.

If expense is the big deciding factor for you, I always recommend getting Visual Cortex and then adding some DIY modules to it (C6 thru C9, double up on each, is an awesome way to go.) Cortex is the equivalent of about a dozen DIY modules, so the costs balance out once you add it all up.

But if DIY is something you just love doing for fun, then by all means, I’m sure you could do it. :slight_smile: Everything’s pretty straightforward – you’ll just need to pay attention to details and brush up on basic assembly/soldering skills.

5 Likes

I second everything Lars said.

I wanted to add that the LZX Cadet and Castle modules are some of the easier DIY modules I’ve built. One board, low-to-medium part counts, legible silkscreens on the boards, and full schematics for troubleshooting/learning.

1 Like

don’t panic :slight_smile:
I’d say, just try it. I only have DIY modules for video. It is a great process for learning about electronics, soldering and video synthesis this way. Like joem said, the Cadet & castle modules are documented quite good (as in BOM & schematics) .