Video Mixer With More Than Two Layers?

I was a computer video artist for years (After Effects, C4D, Nuke, etc) before ditching that wicked machine and going “analog” ( I know it’s not completely analog). But what I miss about Premiere and other Non Linear Editors is the ability to layer more than 2 video tracks and also adjust the blend method. I presently have way too many hardware video mixers (Edirol V4, WJ-MX10, WJ-MX12, Ave7 and maybe more that I’m forgetting). But nothing I’ve ever seen let’s me layer, say, three video sources in one machine. I guess I could layer as many as I want with unlimited mixers but is there an Edirol or “better” mixer that enables you to layer more than 2 video sources and is there a mixer that enables you to adjust the blend method?

And I sincerely apologize for all the questions but I’m so addicted to this video stuff. It’s driving everyone around me crazy :joy:.

2 Likes

FKG-3 it! At least within the 0-1v space, chain a couple FKG’s in series to create an n level priority mixer. Works like a charm. Two FKGs gives you the ability to switch and blend between 3 RGB signals.

3 Likes

The only non-modular video mixer I’ve seen with more than 2 inputs was on ebay. It had 4 inputs but they all had to be synced. So they did exist.

I’ve also seen a set of SDI keyers in an ebay listing. So they also existed. The inputs were fg, bg, key and threshold. ISTR it was a set of 6 in a backplane. So you could do the same thing with a set of FKG modules.

Clearly people have been doing this for years. I suspect many people now use software, probably a video editor, to do this in post production. If you want to do this in 4K or above, that might be the only option. If SD is acceptable, then chaining old video mixers will still work. Chaining modern HD mixers should be possible too, but obviously much more expensive.