Recommendations for complementary modules w/ Chromagnon and/or Vidiot

Hi there - I’m a relative newb when it comes to modular video and a lot of the discussion there flies right over my head. That said, I’ve been a proud owner of Vidiot since the day it launched and I love it, but always wanted more built-in modulation capabilities (LFOs and such). I dipped my toe into the Eurorack format with the addition of a Fortress module, which did give me some LFOs to work into Vidiot (along with a killer low-res pattern generator to mix in to the output). I also have a Chromagnon on pre-order, as I am not about to miss out on a next gen all-in-one system as a replacement for the Vidiot (plus, lasers…). Anyway, since Chromagnon is imminently shipping this year, it got me thinking about other LZX Eurorack-based modules I might want to use in conjunction w/ Chromagnon when it comes out. What might be some good tools that would complement the capabilities? Will I want more inputs (e.g. TBC2), modulation, ways to mix the Vidiot and Chromagnon together, or what? Just curious what this well-educated community would recommend as my next Eurorack-based module purchase. The 10%-off sale got me interested in considering an additional piece to my kit. Thanks in advance!

3 Likes

I definitely recommend Proc, SMX, and FKG3 (when it’s back in production). Those will allow you to mix and key the modules that you already own.

4 Likes

Anything that generates ramps will add value. However, modules with ramp outputs will also require a sync input. So I like jwsmithwick1’s suggestions.

2 Likes

On further reflection, add some ramps too. Just remember to sync with Chromagnon.

2 Likes

Definitely check out the VH.S gear. The submixer and Baja are essential modules. I use them in every patch. Crossfade too. The Aural Scan looks amazing and I bet it will carve its own place in the pantheon of “go to” modules.

2 Likes