DSP principles for analog video emulation?

Hi all,
I recently discovered video synthesis and immediately started going down the rabbit hole (watching all the YouTube videos I can find of LZX gear, downloading Lumen and learning to patch it, etc.) and I think I’d like to implement my own “analog-like” digital video softsynth to understand the principles (I did something similar when I first encountered audio synthesis a few years back and I think I got a lot out of it, though after that I ended up buying mostly analog gear :grinning:).

I am doing a PhD in machine vision (basically image processing for robotics) so video synthesis has a natural appeal to me, but I’ve discovered that analog video and analog “images” are rather different from the intensity array digital images I’m familiar with, and most of the resources I’ve found are old-school EE notes on analog circuits.

I’ve been playing around with simple scripts using sine oscillators for RBG and messing around with frequencies to get interesting patterns, but I was wondering if there are any good resources (papers, books, github repos) I could read to implement a basic version of something like Lumen–someone on r/videosynthesis recommended I ask here. Most of the online resources on analog video describe the actual analog processes (scan lines, horizontal and vertical sync, etc.) but emulating this in software seems to be a rather niche topic.

Thanks!