DIY Composite video signal limiter?

Hello everyone !

I’m sorry if it’s a very noob question, but here it is: I am quite new to video synthesis, for now I’m only working with a few modules with some composite video (Syntonie CBV001, CVB002 + Reverse Landfill Matrix Mixer, LZX Castle Series + camera), but when I make some “heavy” processing on the image, my screen or video projector are getting often out of sync (of course this is not the case with my CTR, but I read something about those to be more stable with analog signals).
To prevent that, I was wondering if there is a circuit that can input the composite signal, and limit it to the range of 0v - +0.7v, so that the signal “just” gets clipped and the image should be more stable ?
Or am I missing something and that wouldn’t work ?

1 Like

Composite sync goes 300mV below “black” level (which is 0V if the white level is +0.7V) and above +0.7V (chroma waveforms) so the clipping you need is slightly more involved.

You could very likely use one of my DIY composite-to-eurorack bidirectional converters (1IF InterFace – Visible Signals) plus a ‘Wrangler’ video voltage processor module (Wrangler – Visible Signals) to achieve pretty-much your desired outcome (the Wrangler has an 0-1V clipped output). To retain the sync portion of the signal through the clipper output use the Wrangler voltage offset control to increase the output by +0.3V (most display devices will work perfectly fine with a small DC offset). You’ll probably still lose a bit of chroma on bright portions of the image though.

But then again, what encoder are you using? Most encoders will already output very stable and in-spec composite signals. The CBV001 is capable of quite some strong glitches, though - your best bet there is to use an external mixer with a tolerant TBC built-in (like the venerable WJ-AVE5 etc etc).

2 Likes