Castle 110 Counter won't power up

Hello, I’ve finished building a Castle 110 Counter (LZX-CASTL7-PCB RevD) but on powering it up, my whole system wouldn’t switch on until I plugged it out :ok_man:t2:
I’ve given it a thorough look over: no ICs, diodes, or polarised caps in the wrong way but amazingly, I can’t see the trace for the C2 cap that can be clearly seen on a couple of the other Castle PCBs I have here. (Update: its on the bottom :man_facepalming:t2: I’m an total noob at circuit diagnosis)
I’ll take a couple of photos, any help would be greatly appreciated. I’ve got a basic multimeter and a slightly wonky oscilloscope but I’m a total novice with them.
I’ll tag a few of you techie regulars on here & untag you if you consider this unnecessary or a nuisance. Apologies in advance. Also thanks for any tips or help offer :+1:t3:
@reverselandfill @transistorcat @Fox @VanTa @VisibleSignals @syntonie

Here’s the back of the pcb.

Here’s a closer up of the C2 cap from behind.

& another photo from the front but surely my thought of the C2 cap not being connected is nonsense because there’s the trace on the back from the Ferrite Bead.

I got the impression while soldering some castles that the tolerances between the solder lands and the copper fill were a bit tight.
I had a board where one (admittedly over-tinned) pad was shorted to ground that i had to carefully cut free to get the module working.

First things first: try to measure the resistance between V+, V- and GND. All three combinations of pairs, remember to measure your probes/offset by just touching the probes together.

If you have the same problem, i expect you’ll find one of these three pairs will measure close to zero.

If you have access to a good typically bench-top multimeter that will let you measure down into the milliohms you can use that to zero in on the fault, but this will not really work with a common meter :frowning: