Castle 000 ADC, function check?

I recently got a Castle 000 (ADC), a Castle 010 (VCO Clock), and a Castle 011 (Shift Register) in the hopes of trying out the DJJonDent shift register patch. I’m using Syntonie VU003B and VU007B for in/out and also trying to use my DSG3 to test as well.

I’m not sure if the Castle 000 is working or not. I’ve only ever gotten a black screen out of it.

Things I’ve tried into Castle 000 inputs:

• Y from Syntonie VU003b
  • G from Syntonie VU003b
  • Outputs from DSG3
  • RCA to 1/8th in on a Structure CVBS output

In all cases I just get a black screen, nothing happening. I’m beginning to wonder if the module is perhaps broken. I checked to make sure it was plugged into my power (a Trogotronic 10Amp, modulargrid says my current system needs 2Amp +12v and far less 5v and -12v).

Is there anything I can try to see if the Castle ADC works?

You’ve probably already guessed that I’m new to video synths so please feel free to tell me I’m doing it all wrong, just point me in the right direction too (I’ve already learned that I was burned on the sync for that clock VCO and have to figure out if it’s even possible to get that thing in sync with what I have, but that’s a different topic).

Thanks for any insight/pointers!

Sorry to hear it’s not working. Let’s try some troubleshooting. In my experience, the best way to troubleshoot is to establish what does and does not work by stripping your signal chain down to the bare minimum first, testing each part, and slowly building it back up.

First, since you didn’t mention it explicitly, can you confirm that your VU003B and VU007B work OK? Try the VU003B luma output into each VU007B input separately to make sure each one is working as expected. And for good measure, does your DSG3 work OK too? Assuming that’s all good, it’s time to move on to the ADC…