Video about Proc

I made a video about the cool things we can do with the LZX Proc module.

Hopefully there will be more down the road. DSG3 was going to be the first one I produced, but my brain is still processing all the epic stuff I want to show off with DSG3.

These modules are deceptively simple to look at, but once I start working with them, I appreciate their power and versatility.

I’m still learning, and will never stop. Feedback is always welcome.

Cheers

23 Likes

This is a really thorough rundown of Proc and the core use cases of a triple 1x gain attenuverter + bias + unity gain summing amplifier in video synthesis.

I’d add that for scan processing techniques with vector monitors, Proc is an excellent way to constrain your raster from H/V ramp inputs and center them as well as fine tuning the contrast / brightness fed into your Z input. With the unity gain summing inputs (A), that gives you an opportunity to patch in heavily attenuated DC offsets to the A inputs for additional fine tune control.

Nicely produced contribution to the community, thanks for putting the time into it. Hope you consider doing more in this style.

4 Likes

Awesome job Doc!! What a gift to the community. It’s so great to get more voices in a teaching role, and especially when it comes down to core voltage processing.

One point – you can get amplification over 1X with Proc, with some patch tricks and multing. For example, by patching the same input to both A & B, your gain range is now 0X to 2X (+/-n from attenuverter). If you cascade channels in combination with this, a gain of up to 8X is possible. It’s not the most efficient use of the module, but it’s a trick I’ve used plenty of times.

5 Likes

Thanks all.

Hadn’t thought of doubling the same signal to both A and B … of course that relies on another buffered mult