Fortress Dev Blog August 2018

I’d like to talk a little bit about Fortress, where it comes from and where it’s going. The concept for Fortress started to form as a back and forth with Lars. Lars had been suggesting a ‘best of Castle’ module – something that was a collection of my favorite patches. Lars got me in to CPLD, which is a huge array of logic gates that you can program. After much mucking about I got the Xilinx suite installed on an old laptop. For some reason the software didn’t like my desktop PC, and every time I tried a new install it would just crash. No Joy. I got a dev board from Lars for the CPLD. I started programming the core for a Video Weaver style thing. This is where some ideas really started to form.

The Castle series is very concise in it’s format. 4HP panel width, a maximum of 8 jacks, a maximum of 2.25” depth, and through hole parts, so all the modules had to be designed with that in mind. With a larger format module we could have more complex operations and greater circuit density with SMD parts.

Lars asked me to come up with a panel mock up for a proposed Super-Castle. Since I am completely incapable of using Illustrator I came up with this:

I know, I know…