Compatibility of discontinued LZX visionary series with current orion and expedition lines

Hi. I’m new to the video synthesis hobby and have been eyeing putting together an LZX eurorack system. I have a local guy who is offering to sell me some LZX modules, but they all seem to be from the discontinued visionary series line. I’m curious if these older modules are compatible with the current Orion or Expedition series of units? I know it seems the sync cable/voltage seems to be different between the lines. Any insight on if I should buy or skip these modules would be appreciated. Thanks!

1 Like

They use the 14-pin sync bus according to this rundown. Visual Cortex and Cadet I both have sync connectors for this, you will just need to buy or make a 14 pin ribbon cable to connect them to your sync generator. They also use 0-1V signals for patch connections as attested by the description of the Voltage Interface I module. I’ve seen a lot of pictures of other people’s rigs that have a mix of old and new modules. The Analogue Haven page for LZX has some specs for some of the Visionary modules. Be aware that these tend to be deeper than Expedition series modules, I’ve seen some folks here using standoffs to get them to fit in a Vessel or other shallower cases.

Note: I, unlike many forum members, do not have any Visionary series modules. Maybe you can get him to sell them to me instead? :stuck_out_tongue:

Thanks, Sam. I went ahead and bought the remaining modules he had. (Color Video Encoder, Sync Gen, Flip Flops, and 2 Waveform Generators.) Even though the color video encoder and sync gen modules may be a bit redundant with the visual cortex that’s in the mail, it’s not that often that LZXs pop up on craigslist. I’m sure I can find some use for it eventually or find a good home for it if it turns out I don’t use it.

1 Like