Small CRT displays worth the trouble?

Hi, I’m currently deciding on whether to pursue a small CRT monitor for my primary system display. I have limited space, so the biggest I could likely go would be one of the small 9" Sony PVM monitors. Are CRT displays of this size worth the expensive (around $100) and bulk over a small lcd display (19" or so)?

Thanks for any guidance you can provide!!

1 Like

I found one of the small ones for around 50… maybe try to find a better deal? Also, if you were asking if the size of the screen isn’t enough, I would say that I definitely use my bigger CRT more. Not a deal breaker, though.

I am not very technical with my knowledge of displays but based off of sheer preference, the CRT’s do look more in place with the image. I think it also depends on your work flow and if you go thru any software or anything after your visuals rig.

There are a lot of variables at play here, including especially personal preference, but I think a CRT generally looks a lot better than an LCD. And allows you to record the screen and get that classic analog look that you will never get from an LCD.

Maybe think of the CRT phosphor array like film grain, just a little bit of added noise that helps make the image look less plastic, more warm and organic.

That being said, 9" is maybe too small? A 14" PVM isn’t going to be much, if any, deeper (which I personally find to be the biggest issue, space-wise, with CRTs), but will provide much more viewing area.